ASEAN Member States Are Advancing with Cross-Border Interconnection

The 8th ASEAN Energy Regulatory Network (AERN) Meeting was held on 7-8 November 2017 in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam. The Meeting aimed to update and firm the way forward for activities of the AERN’s Working Group (AWG) on cross-border interconnection and regulatory harmonisation in the region.

The Meeting was chaired by Pengiran Jamra Weira Bin Pg Haji Petra, Deputy Permanent Secretary of Energy of Brunei Darussalam. He emphasised that the collaboration of ASEAN’s regulatory body will support the great achievement for its interconnection projects. AERN will support Heads of ASEAN Power Utilities/Authorities (HAPUA) in the implementation of the ASEAN Power Grid (APG) Programme for the 2016-2025 ASEAN Plan of Action for Energy Cooperation 2016-2025.

Credit ACE

During the Meeting, the ASEAN Centre for Energy (ACE) shared inputs and recommendations on the activities of AERN in 2017.  As a think tank, knowledge hub and catalyst to provide more tangible energy development in ASEAN, ACE will continuously support the Member States. The Meeting also ascertained the update on Lao PDR-Thailand-Malaysia (LTM) power integration project, shared by the Energy Commission of Malaysia. The project focuses on bringing benefit to all parties involved, particularly in national law and regulation plans. The fast development of LTM collaboration comes from the available infrastructures in each country. In addition, the existing documents from bilateral cooperation also helped the countries to develop the project.

At the end of the Meeting, Cambodia as the new Chairman of AERN appreciated the Energy and Industry Department of Brunei Darussalam for the great achievement of their 2016-2017 tenure. The AERN successfully brings an integrated work with HAPUA to reinforce the regional power development. (SBS. Featured photo credit:  EIDPMO Brunei)